Coming to Wacousta – 1600s

June 22, 2009

During the 1600’s, European colonies were founded in the New World.  Among the earliest families to arrive in New England were the Daniels who settled in Dorchester and Milton, Massachusetts, and the Blisses who settled in Springfield, Massachusetts.

 The first Winegar in our records was Ulrich who was born in Switzerland in 1668 and by the end of the century was living in southern Germany under extremely harsh conditions.

 Our earliest record of the Stephensons was Henry who was married in 1691.  The Stephensons lived in Lincolnshire on the east coast of England.

Maps of England and Germany in the 1600s

Maps of England and Germany in the 1600s


Coming to Wacousta Intro

June 22, 2009

My grandparents, the Winegars, the Stephensons, the Daniells and the Blisses all settled in Wacousta, Michigan, a very small farming community.  The Winegars originally came from Switzerland and Germany and the other three families came from England.  How they all ended up in Wacousta has always been interesting to me.

I have genealogical information on all of the families dating back into the 1600’s.  What I propose to do is to trace the four families from my earliest records up to the present time, sharing not just genealogy but other facts of interest that I may have.  I am calling this history, Coming to Wacousta.  I plan to look at each century and to share where my ancestors were and what they were doing.  I did this on a web site about 15 years ago but unfortunately the site was lost and I have to reconstruct most of it.  I will be posting it as it is developed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers